17 Things I've Learned · Fashion

17 Things I’ve Learned in 17 Years

Looking back, all the struggles, laughter, heartaches, discoveries, failures, achievements, and everything that happened in the past 17 years, I must say it was all worth it because I gained a lot of lessons. And today, on my 17th birthday (Happy Birthday to me!), I’m going to share with you 17 of them!

img_1615
1. Not everyone’s gonna like you, and that’s okay.

Don’t waste your time pleasing people who won’t even like you. Focus on the people out there who love you for who you are.

img_1624
2. I am blessed.

Start counting everything that you have rather than counting everything that you don’t have! In all honesty, words aren’t just enough to express how grateful I really am for being so blessed for having a complete and closed family, lots of circle of friends, many people to count on, supportive friends, and of course God who is always there for me no matter what. ♥

img_1630
3. Stand up on your own and show them what you’ve got.

In life, there will always be someone who will make you feel worthless, downgrade you, and will try to tear you down. Yes it’s okay to be nice, not make a revenge and let them be but sometimes it isn’t a bad thing to stand up and defend yourself. It means  you have the balls to stand up against those who try to tear you down.

img_1631
4. Let go and let God.

There are things that are beyond our control. To be stressed about them won’t help us solve the problem but make it even worse. Just let go and let God. Trust in him that he is up to something good.

img_1641
5. Want to say yes but learn to say no.

Want to say yes in every great opportunities knocking your way but learn to say no when it’s not going to do you any good.

img_1658
6. Enjoy being alone.

Being alone in public were one of my fears before because I’m afraid to look lonely in the eyes of others. But being alone doesn’t have to mean you’re lonely. Having some time alone helps you build a better relationship with yourself.

img_1659
7. Forgive yourself.

Forgiveness sets you free. And if you couldn’t even forgive yourself, then where would you be now?

img_1688
8. Love yourself.

*sings the song Love yourself in my head* lol. Going back, loving yourself means knowing your worth and appreciating yourself. When you love yourself enough, no one can tear you down because you won’t even allow them to. And when someone leaves you, you’ll know that you still have yourself.

img_1696
9. You can’t change people but you can change yourself.
img_1710
10. The purpose of life is not for you to find but for you to define. -Miriam Santiago
img_1714
11. Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

I’m such a travel addict (wait for my travel posts soon!). Just the idea of travel, adventure, and the memory of my past trips makes me happy! If only I could have all the money and freedom I can get, I bet you won’t ever see me again because I will surely start exploring the world!

I believe in this quote because happiness from getting a new device or clothes eventually disappears. We can get tired from it easily over time. But every memory of even a past trip becomes a source of happiness for a long time. Moreover, when you travel, you just not have fun but you also gain experiences, memories, and it teaches you to get out of your comfort zone and to face your fears.

img_1717
12. There’s a difference between being in love with someone and being in love with the idea of love.
img_1720
13. Love is a choice.

I learned this from my parents. Years ago, I saw my mom post a status in facebook saying “No one falls in love by choice, it is by chance. No one stays in love by chance, it is by work. And no one falls out of love by chance, it is by CHOICE.” Starting that day, I realized that despite all the sweetness of my parents they show us, they still undergo through obstacles but they just choose to love one another despite it.

img_1729
14. Never apologize for having high standards in love.

Inspired from the message of Jodi Sta. Maria in one of her interviews.

My standards are like the love of my mom and dad for each other. I see how much they work as a team, be angry at each other yet argue with care and love, and I love how they put God between their relationship.

img_1733
15. Live with no regrets.

All the chances we didn’t take, mistakes we have committed, all the “what ifs” and “could have been”, and all the things we regret, thank them and learn from them.  Living with regrets will just make you stuck in the past. So let go and move forward. There’s still more chances coming your way so the next time it comes, make sure to do all that you can.

img_1745
16. Finished, not perfect.

I have always dreamed of having a fashion blog ever since I was 13, but I never had the guts to start it because I’m afraid. I thought that everything should be perfect first. That I should have a complete and fabulous set of clothes first, a great photographer with me and an amazing place to shoot. That’s why it has been years and still, nothing has happened. Now, I realized that what’s more important is to start and finish first then the improvement comes along.

img_1763
17. I’m still a work in progress.

Yes I’m already 17, yet I’m only 17. I learned a lot from these 17 lessons but there’s still a long way to go. Today, I’m facing my fears in starting my own blog and opening my doors to new opportunities. It’s gonna be challenging but I’m ready for it!

Stay tune for my next post next week!


Photography by Pat Zapanta • Hair by Denise Elizon 

H&M jacket «» oakph pants «» white top

2 thoughts on “17 Things I’ve Learned in 17 Years

  1. Beautiful wisdom from a beautiful young woman 👏🏾🙌🏾 all of these are certainly mottos to live by 🙏🏾 took me a while to learn a lot of these (19 years lol) but when I did I felt free 💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

